Whole30 Day 26

Yesterday Kai decided to wake up around 6:30 am to ring in his birthday. In the last few months he has been sleeping in until about 8:30 or 9 but over the last few weeks he is getting up earlier and earlier causing me to be tireder and tireder. I know tireder is not a word by the way, but it’s what I want to use so I will use it :).  My gracious mother was here and she got up and sat with him and watched Jake and the Neverland Pirates while I slept in for another hour and a half. Thank you mom!  When I did get we finished off the last of the egg muffins for breakfast and I eventually got around to making smoothies not too long before it was time to eat lunch.  For lunch Zach went and got brisket from Bet The House BBQ.  It’s a new barbecue place that opened up a couple months ago and the owner works at Ryan with him.  He asked him what all he puts on the brisket and he said just some spices (no sugar), so he went and got 1.5 pounds of brisket and yall, we ate ALL of it.  It is so good, if you live in Denton you should definitely give it a try.  Dinner was also very good.  One of the best we have had, I think, since starting whole 30.  I thawed some ground beef and mixed garlic salt, pepper, and salt together and rubbed it in good.  I also put about 2 tablespoons of coconut aminos.  I used our patty press to make the hamburger patties and they turned out very well again!  We bought giant round portabello mushrooms to serve in place of the “bun” and I absolutely loved that.  I am a big mushroom person though.  If you’re not a mushroom person it might not be your thing.  I grilled them on the top of the part of the grill for about 10 minutes while the hamburgers were cooking and they turned out very nicely.  It was also nice because I had something to put my mayonnaise and mustard on.  I also grilled asparagus and made avocado fries. The avocado fries were so good, I would definitely recommend them to anyone who is doing whole 30 or even just eating paleo.  The picture below is what they looked like.  I actually dipped them in a little bit of mayonnaise (because that’s just how I roll), but they were also delicious all on their own.

avocado fries

Leave a Reply

