Whole30 Day 24

I can say that I am personally keeping Band-Aid in business here recently with Whole 30.  I do so much chopping with my knife that I have literally gone through a whole box of band aids in the last 3 weeks.  It makes me madder and madder every time I do it.  It’s like when you bite your cheek and you try so hard not to do it, but you end up doing it anyway…..that’s how I feel every time I slice my finger.

Anywho….for breakfast Kai and I had egg muffins again along with our shake.  For lunch we had the chicken thighs I roasted at the beginning of the week.  I can’t speak highly enough of how delicious chicken thighs are.  Especially the ones I just bought from Costco.  We bough the fresh bone in with skin on and they are so juicy!  I just sprinkle them pretty heavily with salt, pepper, and garlic powder and roast them on 400 degrees for 30 minutes.  Such a simple, delicious meal.  They are also good for a quick snack or for breakfast if you want.  I also had some fruit and some leftover asparagus as well.  For dinner I made this chicken.  I have really enjoyed most of the recipes from this blog, but I wasn’t a big fan of this one for two reasons, one of them being my fault.  The first thing, I let it brine it too long and it was too salty for my taste.  Also, I have decided after I made this chicken and from when I made broccoli soup last week….I do not like Curry Powder.  It really is just too heavy a spice and I feel like it overtakes the taste of all the other spices. Zach hit it right on the head when he said it’s like making a suicide drink where you mix all the different sodas together.  If you accidently put root beer in there then the whole drink tastes like root beer.  So needless to say, I was a bit disappointed in the chicken.  If you like curry powder then you will most definitely like this chicken.  Now, the SAUCE though….wow!! The sauce was amazing.  I actually forgot about it for dinner so we didn’t eat it.  I did eat it today for lunch, but more on that tomorrow.  Definitely make the sauce and as Melissa says on her blog “Inhale and rejoice that you have a nose”.  I also made sweet potatoes and green beans.  I think Zach is getting a little tired of sweet potatoes :).  Picture below is us eating dinner outside on the picnic table Zach made. He is so talented!

kai and dinner

Leave a Reply

