Whole30 Day 15

Officially halfway done, woohoo!! My email today that I got from whole 30 was talking about rewarding yourself for milestones, but to not make it food centered.  So often we reward ourselves with food and that is really an unhealthy mindset.  I’m not sure what we will do to reward ourselves, but I do think something needs to be done 🙂.

Today was Zach’s great aunt’s 90th birthday so we celebrated by going out to eat and then heading back to my in-laws house for some cake and ice cream….that is, they went back to celebrate with cake and ice cream. We just went back lol.  My mother in law was very thoughtful and did go buy a spread of different fresh fruits so that we had something sweet to snack on as well.  It was still hard watching everybody enjoy delicious cake.  I don’t even miss cake except for when it’s right in my face.  For lunch we went to outback which was great because they have a lot of good choices.  I got the 6 oz outback special, grilled asparagus, and a plain sweet potato all cooked without butter.  It was all very delicious. For dinner my mother in law had made a big roast so she gave some to us and we had that with a fruit walnut salad that she made as well.  We also had curried cream broccoli soup.  I have to say, I was disappointed in this soup 😦.  I guess I have never really had curry before and didn’t realize I’m not a fan of it…..this would be good information before you dump a whole lot of curry into your soup.  Anyway, it made a TON so I am still going to eat it, but I won’t be making it again.  Here is the recipe if you are a curry fan and would like to try it: http://nomnompaleo.com/post/2345953636/curried-cream-of-broccoli-soup.  I will most likely try the soup again, I will just use a different spice other than curry to make it.

I had my big cooking day today and it was a bit easier than last week since I made some of my stuff the night before that.  I already had my sweet potatoes and spaghetti squash done and cooled in the fridge to help with not overloading it with hot things.  I also forgot to set my meat out so I wasn’t able to do my chicken thighs or brown my ground beef (I am doing that today).  I made soup, gravy that I will be using on dinner today, clarified butter (see picture below, it turned out so good!), mayonnaise (I used regular light tasting olive oil this time and it is sooooo delicious….I was licking it out of the blender at the end.), chicken salad, and I steam/sautéed cauliflower, zucchini, and green beans for side dishes later on the week. Most of my recipes this week require more preparation on the day of so that will be a little bit more difficult, but I got what I could done and I feel pretty good about it.

Below is a video for how to make clarified butter.  It’s actually a pretty easy process.  The video says you only use 1/4 of the butter, but I lost 1/2 of it. I started with 4 cups and ended up with 2. If you don’t know what clarified butter is, the video explains it.  Since we can’t have dairy we have to take the milk proteins out of the butter before we eat it.

butter

 

 

Leave a Reply

