Whole30 Day 11

Today was hard. Not because of food, but just a long day in general. I’m tired so I’m going to keep it short. I was still able to stay on track due in large part to the prep work I have done beforehand. It’s not easy to make an excuse and cheat when you have tons of good options staring at you in the fridge.

For breakfast I had a smoothie (strawberry/blueberry/blackberry, bananas, coconut milk, coconut oil, and spinach) and scrambled eggs that I added in the leftovers from the Italian pork roast I made last week. It was delicious and Kai loved it too.  For lunch Zach had the leftover meatballs from last night as well as mashed potatoes and cashew soup. I had a chicken sausage cut up with some diced avocado and tomatillo salsa, leftover stir fried green beans from last night, and some cashew soup. For dinner I used my friend Susan’s idea of Mexican hash.  I roasted some potatoes in the oven drizzled with olive and heavily seasoned them with fajita seasoning (cook on 400 for about 15 minutes to get them nice and brown and mushy), browned ground beef and put some homemade taco seasoning on it (http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2012/11/23/misleading-products/), and stir fried some bell peppers and onions in coconut oil.  I put it all together on a plate and topped it with some roasted campfire salsa we found at walmart that is whole30 friendly and very delicious.  I also boiled some kale in the leftover pork broth made from the Italian pork roast.  It was a little bit too salty, but had great flavor.  Kale is definitely a strong tasting vegetable and I personally need something to tame down the taste. I went and ran this evening as I have been doing all week and it was just hard to get through.  It was worse than even my normal plodding haha. The important thing is to keep plodding on though.  Currently I am enjoying some apples and almond butter and it is making the day seem a little bit better :).

Here is to hoping for a better day tomorrow :)!

Leave a Reply

