Whole30 Day 9

Zach went back to work today so I had the boys by myself for the first time. The day actually went pretty good and it helps soooo much to have food pre-prepared in the fridge for lunch and dinner.  That has always been one of my biggest stresses is trying to figure out how I’m going to get everything put together.  To just be able to stick it all in the microwave is pretty awesome.  Also, when I woke up this morning I opened the fridge and found it to be nice and cold! I think I probably just overloaded it with too much hot food yesterday and it just couldn’t keep up.  My mother in law brought everything back over this morning and we are back in food business yay!

For breakfast we had scrambled eggs with avocado and an apple.  We were fairly limited on what we had in the fridge since at that point we did not have food back. For lunch Zach had cashew soup, chicken thighs, and cabbage. I had chicken salad on lettuce wraps and leftover spaghetti squash.  For dinner we had 5-spice ribs that I cooked in the crockpot.  I wasn’t too sure when they were cooking that I was going to like them, but once we ate them they were actually pretty tasty.  They had a similar taste to the cabbage rolls that you get at a Mediterranean steakhouse.  I would definitely recommend them, but if you don’t like to branch out with different flavors then these probably aren’t for you.  Along with the ribs we had roasted sweet potatoes and roasted asparagus.  I really feel like I’m settling into the days and the routines of cooking this way.  We haven’t ventured out to eat yet and I’m a little nervous about trying that.  Zach’s great aunt turns 90 here soon and we are taking her out to eat this sunday so we will see how that goes.

In the midst of taking care of the boys all day I have no pictures to show you of any of the food we ate. I know you’re so disappointed :).

Here are the recipes for some of the things I mentioned above:

Cashew soup: http://www.mensfitness.com/nutrition/what-to-eat/detox-with-this-spicy-soup-recipe

5-spice slow cooker ribs (I used the country style ribs rather than baby back just because they were cheaper): http://theclothesmakethegirl.com/2012/02/23/5-spice-slow-cooker-pork-ribs/

 

Leave a Reply

