Whole30 Day 5

Today was a good day! Like really good.  I feel like I’m getting into the swing of things.  I wasn’t tired, I didn’t have a headache, and I actually went from lunch to dinner without even thinking about needing a snack (so of course I will reward myself now with some apples and almond butter :)).

For breakfast I made scrambled eggs and added some avocado and chalula.  For lunch I had a salad with grilled chicken and avocado and a cup of silky zucchini soup.  I have found the most amazing salad dressing that I will probably continue to use even after whole 30.  Zach ordered some macadamia nut oil to try to make the mayonnaise with and we have some left over so I used that and a little balsamic vinegar and it was so delicious.  The oil gave it that extra little nutty flavor that I love.  For dinner we had chicken fajitas (I actually made them in a cast iron skillet so it almost felt like restaurant quality haha) and homemade guacamole and we used the delicious salsa especial from Trader Joe’s.  We put the fajitas on romaine hearts and I was actually surprised by how I did not really miss tortillas at all.  We also had pineapple and roasted brussel sprouts (see picture below).

We took the boys to the pool today with our friends that are also doing the whole 30 and I am very encouraged because they are on day 13 and I can tell it’s really making a big difference in their lives and it is getting so much easier for them.  I know this journey is worth it and I am supremely committed to completing it.  I really appreciate all the love and support I’ve been getting from you guys throughout this journey.

Biggest Challenge of the Day:  Today was actually really good and I didn’t feel like I had any super big challenges. The biggest challenge would probably be that it is especially hard trying to stay on top of keeping vegetables chopped up and knowing what we are going to have for dinner.  I spend a lot of time chopping up food!

Next week I will try to branch out a little more on the recipes.  Hoping I don’t fall flat on my face with some of them because this momma does not have time to try to make a second dinner if the first does not turn out good.fajitas

Oh, and just for your enjoyment.  I totally forgot yesterday, but I meant to share this video because this is exactly how I felt!

 

Leave a Reply

